Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Research Committee
Graduate Studies Committee
Teaching Committee
Better Workplace Group
Open Meeting  


The minutes for these committees can be found on the Sharepoint (requires SSO).

Research Committee

The research committee makes decisions on research strategy and academic training in the department. Research committee meetings take place monthly and are chaired by Professor Richard McManus. 


  • Health behaviours: Paul Aveyard (Deputy:Susan Jebb)
  • Infections and acute care: Chris Butler
  • Cardiovascular and metabolic: Richard Hobbs, Richard McManus (Chair), Andrew Farmer
  • Patient experience: Sue Ziebland (Deputy: Lisa Hinton)
  • EBM and Research Methods: Rafael Perera, Carl Heneghan (Deputy: Kamal Mahtani)
  • Trials: Chris Butler (Deputy: Ly-Mee Yu)
  • Big Data (ie CPRD): Clare Bankhead
  • Digital Health: Trish Greenhalgh
  • International: Andrew Farmer
  • Health Policy: Barry McCormick
  • Impact: Trish Greenhalgh
  • PPI: Lynne Maddocks
  • Training: Paul Aveyard
  • Information Governance Committee Chair: John Powell
  • Communications: Dan Richards-Doran
  • Head of Administration & Finance: Tanya Baldwin
  • Secretary/Minutes: Lucy Curtin

Graduate Studies Committee

The Graduate Studies Committee provides oversight of policy, provision and standards for graduate studies following the Examination Regulations and the policies set out in the Policy and Guidance for Research Degrees and Policy and Guidance for Graduate Taught Courses. Meetings are chaired by Paul Aveyard.


  • Departmental Training Lead: Paul Aveyard [Chair]
  • Director of Graduate Studies: Anthony Harnden
  • Head of Department: Richard Hobbs
  • Head of Administration & Finance: Tanya Baldwin
  • Director of Programmes in EBHC: Carl Heneghan
  • Director of MSc EBHC: Annette Plüddemann
  • Director of MSc EBHC Systematic Reviews: Kamal Mahatani
  • Director of MSc EBHC Statistics: Richard Stevens
  • Clinical Training Lead: Kay Wang
  • Non-clinical Training Lead: Kath Tucker
  • Lead for Research Teams: Richard McManus
  • Research Teams Representative: Trish Greenhalgh
  • Communications Manager: Dan Richards-Doran 
  • Student Representative: Jessica Price
  • Postgraduate Training Officer: Daniel Long [Secretary/minutes]

Teaching Committee

The Teaching Committee makes decisions about undergraduate teaching in the department. The Committee is chaired by Julian Hancock.


  • Senior Clinical Lecturer in Primary Health Care: Julian Hancock (Chair)
  • Primary Care Course Administrator: Emma Wiley
  • Primary Care Course Assistant: Maria Luque Arrabal
  • Head of Administration & Finance: Tanya Baldwin
  • Lecturer: Helen Salisbury
  • Lecturer: David Nunan 
  • Head of Department: Richard Hobbs
  • Lecturer: Richard Stevens
  • Lecturer: Thomas Fanshawe
  • Lecturer: Annette Pluddemann
  • Lecturer: Carl Heneghan
  • Lecturer: Rafael Perera
  • Lecturer: Ruth Wilson
  • Lecturer: Alison Convey
  • Lecturer: Rachel Allan
  • Lecturer: David McCartney
  • Lecturer: Kamal Mahtani
  • Student representatives: Katherine Marshall, Zachary Tait.

Better Workplace Group

Our department's Better Workplace Group works towards ensuring the department is a supportive and encouraging environment for all staff and students. The Group is made up of several smaller working groups who consult with staff to identify areas for improvement and make changes for the benefit of everyone. 

The Group achieved an Athena SWAN Silver Renewal in 2017 - the charter for women in science, engineering, maths and medicine; and a Green Impact Bronze Award.

The Better Workplace Group is chaired by Professor Sue Ziebland with Dr James Sheppard and Dr Lisa Hinton as deputies.

Working Group Working Group Lead Senior Champion
Mentoring  Katherine Tucker Richard Stevens
DPhil students Constantinos Koshiaris / Kerstin Frie Clare Bankhead
Family friendly (including returning carers) and part-time staff James Sheppard / Veronika Williams Richard McManus
Health care professionals Geoff Wong / Eleanor Barry Paul Aveyard
Support, teaching, admin & researchers (non-clinical researchers) TBC Susan Jebb
Workload allocation Anthony Harnden
Teaching Helen Salisbury TBC
Emotional impact of research / staff wellbeing Abi McNiven, Jessy Morton and Sue Smith TBC
Green Impact and environmental sustainability Karen Morecroft John Powell
Physically active at work David Nunan Rafael Perera-Salazar
Early and Mid-Career Researchers' Group Anne-Marie Boylan Carl Heneghan
Staff living outside of Oxford (commuters) Jenny Riga Chris Butler
Better PDRs Kamal Mahtani Melissa Stepney Richard Hobbs

Group members also include:
Katherine Corr - Athena SWAN Advisor & Facilitator (Medical Sciences Division)
Elizabeth Woolliams - BWP Group Administrator
Tanya Baldwin - Head of Administration and Finance
Clare Wickings - HR Manager
Dan Richards-Doran - Senior Communications Manager 

Staff Open Meetings

Staff Open Meetings are held approximately every 3-4 months for all Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences Staff. This comprises a Head of Department Update from Richard Hobbs as well as updates from our Research Groups and our Head of Administration & Finance, Tanya Baldwin. In addition, the meeting is an opportunity for members of staff to raise departmental issues with the rest of the group and for new staff to briefly introduce themselves to everyone.