Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

To ask for an agenda item to be added please contact the Chair and copy in the Committee Secretary 

The IGC performs these functions:


  Reviews and approves all new and material changes to existing Department IG policies and Standard Operating Procedures;

  Reviews reported Incidents, including actual and suspected breaches, security, etc.;

  Reports to the Research Committee on Departmental compliance with Information Governance policies;

  Provides advice to and obtains approvals from the Research Committee and the SMC on Information Governance matters as required; and

 ✓ Encourage good practice and compliance across the activities of the Department in line with regulatory requirements.


Meeting frequency: Twice a term


Membership: A representative from each of the research groups in the Department. The Committee is currently comprised of the following representatives:

Chair: Ly-Mee Yu

Administration/SIRO: Nicola Small

IT/G Head: John Briggs

Secretary/IGM: Phil Nieri

Health Behaviours: Nerys Astbury

HERG: Ruth Sanders

IRIHS: Joseph Wherton

CVM: James Sheppard

Infections and acute care: Oliver van Hecke

EBM: Ruth Davis

Data Lab: Helen Curtis 

CHSEO: Stuart Redding

Medical Statistics: Julie McLellan

CPRD: Clare Bankhead

MIC: Phil Turner

CTU: Emma Ogburn

UG team: Maria Luque Araba

Q Research: Julia Hippisley-Cox

RCGP/RSC: Sneha Anand

MSD IT: Jono Franklin