Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

To ask for an agenda item to be added please contact the Chair and copy in the Committee Secretary 

The IGC performs these functions:

  Reviews and approves all new and material changes to existing Department IG policies and Standard Operating Procedures;

  Reviews reported Incidents, including actual and suspected breaches, security, etc.;

  Reports to the Research Committee on Departmental compliance with Information Governance policies;

  Provides advice to and obtains approvals from the Research Committee and the SMC on Information Governance matters as required; and

 ✓ Encourage good practice and compliance across the activities of the Department in line with regulatory requirements.

Meeting frequency: Twice a term

Membership: A representative from each of the research groups in the Department. The Committee is currently comprised of the following representatives:


IG Committee Membership - 20Nov23





Research Area Represented

  1. Ariel Wang 

Cardiovascular and Metabolic 
  1. Clare Bankhead 

CPRD - Clinical Practise Research Datalink 
  1. David Seaton  

Back up Secretary: IG Officer 
  1. Jacqui Belcher 

Undergraduate Teaching Team 
  1. Joe Wherton 

IRIHS - Interdisciplinary Research in Health Sciences 
  1. John Briggs 

Deputy Chair: Head IT/IG  
  1. Jono Franklin 

MSD-IT - Medical Sciences Division’s IT 
  1. Julia Hippisley-Cox

Back up: Jennifer Hirst

Q Research 
  1. Julie McLellan 

Medical Statistics 
  1. Liam Hart 

Data Lab 
  1. Ly-Mee Yu

Chair: Associate Professor/ Deputy Director Academic (CTU) 
  1. Nicola Small 

Head of Administration/Finance 

Role: SIRO - Senior Information Risk Officer 

  1. Oliver van Hecke 

Infections and Acute Care
  1. Phil Nieri 

Secretary: Senior IG Manager 
  1. Phil Turner 

MIC - MedTech and In vitro Diagnostic Co-operative 
  1. Ru Jia 

Health Behaviours 
  1. Ruth Davis 

Evidence Based Medicine 
  1. Ruth Sanders 


Medical Sociology / Health Experiences Research Group 

  1. Sharon Tonner  

Back up: Rebekah Burrow 

Cancer Research  
  1. Sneha Anand 

  1. Stasya Ng 


Clinical Trials Unit 

  1. Stuart Redding 

Health Economics