Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The school has funding opportunities for individuals with a strong academic record who wish to develop a career in primary care research.  Awards are offered at all nine Universities within the NIHR School for Primary Care Research: Bristol, Exeter, Keele, Manchester,  Nottingham, Oxford, Queen Mary University of London (QMUL), Southampton and University College London (UCL).

The awards will be taken up in October 2021 and applications to the Nuffield Department or Primary Care Health Sciences must be made by 09 July.

Applicants must have a first degree in a discipline relevant to primary care research and will be expected to complete a PhD/DPhil during the award period. The precise academic qualifications required depend on the university and training offered. This award will fund tuition fees to the value of home/ROI fees; students with overseas status are welcome to apply but will need to fund the remainder of their fees from alternative sources.

The awards offer traditional project-specific training in areas of particular importance to primary care and awarded to applicants from diverse backgrounds including e.g., medical statistics, social sciences, health economics, health psychology).   

Studentship awards include fees and an annual tax-free stipend of £16,000 (plus a London weighting for QMUL and UCL). 

Guidance notes for NIHR SPCR Studentships


See the complete list of funded projects for 2021 here

Start your application process

Please see our how to apply page for information on how to complete the application form and how to apply for a DPhil project in the department. There is no additional application process for the SPCR studentship, all applications to a DPhil in our department will be considered for the award.