Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

To ask for an agenda item to be added please contact the Chair and copy in the Committee Secretary

Terms of Reference:

To advise the Head of Department (HoD) on all matters affecting the department, with particular reference to:

  • the budget and forecast,
  • allocation of resources and accommodation,
  • academic appointments
  • strategy
  • risk management

 Frequency of meetings:

Three times per term in, or around, 0th, 4th and 9th week and as necessary

Quorum:  3 Academics, 2 Professional & Support - where meetings are not quorate a provisional decision may be made pending ratification from absent members.


HoD: Professor Richard Hobbs

Associate Head for Research*:  Professor Richard McManus

Director of Graduate Studies*: Professor Rafael Perera

Associate Head for Undergraduate Training:  Dr Julian Hancock

Associate Head for People, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion*: Professor Catherine Pope

Up to two members selected by the DSC from the current SAC*:  Professors Chris Butler (CTU) and Susan Jebb (Non-Clinical)

Head of Administration: Nicola Small

Head of Finance: Felicity Peachell

Head of HR: Clare Wickings

Head of Communications: Jo Gearing

Up to one member selected by the DSC where a specific skill is required for a defined period (TBC)


*appointed for three years in the first instance, extendable to align with the term of the HoD.  All posts to be reviewed within the first year of appointment of a new HoD

Committee Secretary: EA to the HoD