Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Recognising advancement of gender equality: representation, progression and success for all.

Athena SWAN self-assessment team

Our department's Athena Swan Self-Assessment Team works to drive forward the development and improvement of practical steps towards the advancement of equality. They are responsible for substantial self-analysis, and will strive to ensure that the principles of Athena Swan are embedded throughout the culture of the Department.

The SAT works together with the Department’s Better Workplace Groups to enhance working life for all staff and students and to encourage engagement and inclusion

To date, the Group has achieved one Athena Swan Bronze, two consecutive Athena Swan Silver Awards and one Athena Swan Gold Award. 

A comprehensive department action plan aims to:

  • Support and advance women's careers
  • Nurture a department culture that promotes sharing and cooperation, recognises achievements and supports work-life balance for all staff and researchers 
  • Encourage personal development including mentorship
  • Support new staff, ensuring they feel welcome and integrate quickly

The Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team is chaired by James Sheppard.


Read more about the University of Oxford's participation in Athena SWAN.

View our Gold Application (awarded March 2023).

View the Athena SWAN SAT full terms of reference



James Sheppard


Catherine Pope

Profile photo of Richard Hobbs

James Sheppard 
Chair of Athena Swan SAT and Data Monitoring Group
Vacant Athena Swan Deputy Catherine Pope Associate Head for People, Equality,
Diversity and Inclusion
Richard Hobbs Head of Department
Nicola Small Clare Wickings Nicola Webb Jo Gearing
Nicola Small Head of Administration Clare Wickings Head
of HR
Nicola Webb HR
Jo Gearing Head of Communications
Kamal R. Mahtani Stavros Petrou Charlotte Albury Claire Friedemann Smith
Kamal Mahtani chair Personal Development working group Stavros Petrou chair Workload Allocation
working group
Charlotte Albury 
representative of the E&MCR
Claire Friedemann Smith a representative of the E&MCR
Lucy Goddard Michelle Yeung Johanna Cook Kathryn Ungerer
Lucy Goddard a DPhil representative

Michelle Yeung a DPhil

Johanna Cook 
representative of the
Clinical Trials Unit

Kathryn Ungerer 
Engagement and Projects Manager and SAT Secretary



Core’ working groups

To support its work, the SAT will work through a small number of ‘core’ groups. These are:

Athena SWAN 'core' groupsGroup Chair
Personal development Kamal Mahtani
Workload allocation Stavros Petrou
Early & Mid-Career Researchers Lauren Bandy and Rebecca Barnes
Data monitoring James Sheppard
Bullying and Harassment Kathryn Ungerer

Core’ groups will:

  • Be supported by the Departmental Engagement and Projects Manager.
  • Meet termly.
  • Ensure effective monitoring and measurement against agreed actions.
  • Report progress, successes and challenges to each meeting of the SAT.

Better Workplace and Equality and Diversity Groups

The Better Workplace and Equality and Diversity working groups support the broad aims of a 'better workplace' but are not strictly limited to the limit of the Athena SWAN Charter. We allow and encourage colleagues to identify areas of need and create and run working groups to tackle these areas. 

The working groups will:

  • Meet on a cycle determined by their membership.
  • Report membership and achievements via the Department newsletter.
  • Report annually to the SAT on progress, successes and challenges.
  • Liaise informally with the Head of Administration, the Athena Swan Lead and Deputy Leads and the Engagement and Projects Manager as appropriate, for advice on how best to share those successes or overcome any challenges faced.


Better Workplace Working Groups:

 Group Lead

 Senior Champion 

Wellbeing Jessy Morton Catherine Pope
Green Impact Marta Santillo OR Charlotte Thompson-Grant John Powell

If you wish to join a group, contact the group lead.

Would you like to start a new group? Contact Kathryn Ungerer