Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

To ask for an agenda item to be added please contact the Chair and copy in the Committee Secretary

Terms of Reference:

To make recommendations to SMC on all matters affecting the department, with particular reference to:

  • the allocation of resources across the department, and the financial contributions made by groups
  • the budget and forecast
  • academic appointments as appropriate.

Meeting frequency:

At least once a term


  • Head of Department: Richard Hobbs (Chair)
  • Director of the CTU: Chris Butler
  • Research lead: Richard McManus
  • A representative from the SMC: Susan Jebb
  • Head of Administration & Finance: Nicola Small 
  • Deputy Departmental Administrator and HR Manager: Clare Wickings
  • Senior Finance Manager: post vacant and in the process of recruitment
  • Secretary (minute taking) Lucy Curtin