Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Health Service Journal (HSJ), announces its inaugural Clinical Leaders list providing an industry listing of clinical leaders who are making the greatest impact in the areas of health policy, service redesign, and research and innovation.

Dr Carl Heneghan, Director CEBM, Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford
Dr Carl Heneghan, Director CEBM, Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

A list of over 270 individuals was put before the judging panel. Through debate they collectively decided those people increasing effectiveness in the NHS by leading innovation, driving policy change and aiming for continuous improvement in the quality of care delivered, not as a one-off task or project, but as a core part of their professional identity and role.

One hundred individuals from all areas of healthcare have made the inaugural list including Dr Carl Heneghan, Department of Primary Care Health Sciences.

The list was ranked alphabetically but a top 10 was created. The top 10 were:

  1. Professor Sir Bruce Keogh, NHS Medical Director forEngland
  2. Professor Sir Mike Richards, Chief Inspector of Hospitals
  3. Dr Don Berwick, David Cameron’s new health Tsar
  4. Jane Cummings, Chief Nursing Officer for England
  5. Professor Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer for England
  6. Professor Lord Ara Darzi, Paul Hamlyn Chair of Surgery, Imperial College London
  7. Dame Julie Moore. Chief Executive, University Hospitals Birmingham
  8. Dr Ben Goldacre, Wellcome Research Fellow in Epidemiology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine 
  9. Dr Michael Dixon, GP, NHS Alliance Chair and Interim President of NHS Clinical Commissioners
  10. Professor Tricia Hart, Chief Executive, South Tees Hospitals Foundation Trust 

Read more

The result is not just a list of people who excel in their own professional specialism but whose impact extends beyond their immediate sphere
- Alastair McLellan, Editor of Health Service Journal


Contact our communications team

Opinions expressed are those of the authors and not of Oxford University. Readers' comments will be moderated - see our guidelines for further information.