Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

© University of Oxford
As a combined force the Fellows shape the way scientific research is conducted in the UK and develop ways to tackle the big health challenges now and in the future.
- Professor Susan Jebb OBE FMedSci, University of Oxford

Professor Susan Jebb is amongst 48 of the UK's world-leading researchers elected to join the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences, and one of seven elected this year from Oxford University.

The new Fellows have been elected for their outstanding contributions to biomedical and health science, leading research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and the wider society.

Professor Jebb is a nutrition scientist whose work focuses on how what we eat affects the risk of gaining weight or becoming obese, and the interventions that might be effective to help people lose weight or reduce the risk of obesity-related diseases. Along with her research, public engagement and media activities, Susan works to support the translation of evidence into policy and practice, having previously been the science advisor for the UK Government's Foresight obesity report and chaired the cross-government Expert Advisory Group on obesity and the Responsibility Deal Food Network. She has recently become a member of the Public Health England Obesity Programme Board and one of the Chairs of the NICE Public Health Advisory Committees. 

Commenting on the Fellowship, Professor Jebb said, “I feel very honoured and absolutely delighted to have been elected to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences. It is a huge privilege to join this group of people who individually have made such important scientific advances.

"As a combined force the Fellows shape the way scientific research is conducted in the UK and develop ways to tackle the big health challenges now and in the future. I am really looking forward to contributing to this important work, especially activities linked to improving the health of the public which is the focus of my own research.”

Professor Sir Robert Lechler PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said, “The Academy simply could not tackle major health and policy challenges without our dynamic and diligent brain trust of Fellows. I extend my warmest congratulations to all who are joining us this year, each of whom has earnt this prestige by advancing their own field of biomedical science."

Professor Jebb joins three other Academy of Medical Sciences Fellows in the Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences: Professor Chris Butler (elected 2016), Professor Trish Greenhalgh (elected 2014) and Professor Richard Hobbs (elected 2002).


Contact our communications team

Opinions expressed are those of the authors and not of Oxford University. Readers' comments will be moderated - see our guidelines for further information.