Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

On this page


We take diversity seriously. We understand the intersectional disadvantage and while our focus is on gender equality we are committed to improving representation from minoritised and currently underrepresented groups
- Statement from the Athena SWAN SAT Members

The NDPCHS Athena SWAN SAT work as a group to drive forward the development and improvement of practical steps towards the advancement of equality.  They will be responsible for substantial self-analysis, and will strive to ensure that the principles of Athena SWAN are embedded throughout the culture of the Department.

The SAT works together with the Department’s Better Workplace Groups to enhance working life for all staff and students and to encourage engagement and inclusion. It will meet at least 8 times per year and will report to the Department Senior Management Committee via the Athena SWAN Lead. All members of the SAT are expected to contribute in some way to the team and are encouraged to attend events organised by the team.

Membership and Terms of Reference for the SAT are provided below.

‘Core’ working groups

To support its work, the SAT will work through a small number of ‘core’ groups. These are:

  • Better PDRs (led by Kamal Mahtani)
  • Workload allocation (led by Stavros Petrou)
  • Data monitoring (led by James Sheppard)
  • Early and Mid-Career Researchers (led by Catherine Pope)
  • Communications and Engagement, which will be a cross-cutting group, supporting each of the working groups listed above. (led by Nicola Small, with support from Dan Richards-Doran and Kathryn Jennings).

‘Core’ groups will:

  • Be supported by the Departmental Engagement and Projects Manager.
  • Meet monthly.
  • Ensure effective monitoring and measurement against agreed actions.
  • Report progress, successes and challenges to each meeting of the SAT.

Where a ‘core’ group is not already in existence, it is the role of the lead, supported by the Engagement and Projects Manager, to consider how best to consult and engage colleagues.

Equality & Diversity and Better Workplace Working Groups

The Department will have other working groups whose work supports the broad aims of a ‘better workplace’ but may not be strictly limited to the remit of the Athena SWAN Charter. The Department takes a ‘bottom up’ approach to these groups, allowing and encouraging colleagues to identify areas of need and create and run working groups to tackle those areas as needed.

The working groups will:

  • Meet on a cycle determined by their membership.
  • Report membership and achievements via the Department newsletter.
  • Report annually to the SAT on progress, successes and challenges.
  • Liaise informally with the Head of Administration, the Athena SWAN Lead and Deputy Leads and the Engagement and Projects Manager as appropriate, for advice on how best to share those successes or overcome any challenges faced.

NDPCHS SAT Membership

  • Athena SWAN Lead and SAT Chair (Sue Ziebland)
  • Head of Department (Richard Hobbs)
  • Athena SWAN Deputy Leads (James Sheppard, Catherine Pope)
  • Head of Administration (Nicola Small)
  • Head of HR (Clare Wickings)
  • Engagement and Projects Manager (Secretary) (Kathryn Jennings)
  • Head of Communications (Dan Richards-Doran)
  • A representative of each of the ‘core’ Athena SWAN groups (Kamal Mahtani, Stavros Petrou, plus representatives already in the above list)
  • Two early and mid-career research representatives (Ola Borek and Dimitri Koutoukidis)
  • A DPhil representative (Amelia Talbot & Lucy Goddard)
  • A representative of the Clinical Trials Unit (Anne Smith).

Among the representation will be a balance of clinical and research specialist (non-clinical) researchers; professional and support staff; early and mid-career researchers; senior academic colleagues; and an appropriate gender balance. It is the responsibility of the Athena SWAN lead and Deputy Leads to ensure that this balance is appropriate in the context of the Department’s overall staffing.

The Medical Sciences Division Athena SWAN Advisor will also be invited to attend SAT meetings.

The SAT will connect and engage with the Department’s research groups via a nominated contact person in each group.

NDPCHS SAT Terms of reference 

ToR updated October 2019

The SAT will be responsible for:

  • Upholding equality and diversity standards throughout the Department
  • Student and staff training and development
  • Departmental processes and procedures relating to equality and diversity
  • Coordinating data collection and analysis
  • Overseeing  and ensuring appropriate staff survey analysis and distribution
  • Implementation and monitoring of the Athena SWAN action plan, as well as measuring progress of the actions within it
  • Overseeing, guiding and preparing for submission of the Department’s Athena SWAN award applications
  • Identifying and recommending suitable revisions to the existing action plan, and priorities, actions and objectives to be included in the next iteration of the action plan for the Department’s 2020 award application.