Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Our department's Better Workplace Group works towards ensuring the department is a supportive and encouraging environment for all staff and students. The Group is made up of several smaller working groups who consult with staff to identify areas for improvement and make changes for the benefit of everyone. 

To date, the Group has achieved two consecutive Athena SWAN Silver Awards - the charter for women in science, engineering, maths and medicine - and a Green Impact Bronze Award.

The Better Workplace Group is chaired by Professor Sue Ziebland with Dr James Sheppard and Dr Lisa Hinton as deputies.

> To join a group, contact the working group lead.

Working Group Working Group Lead Senior Champion
Mentoring  Katherine Tucker Richard Stevens
DPhil students Constantinos Koshiaris/Kerstin Frie Clare Bankhead
Family friendly (including returning carers) and part-time staff James Sheppard/Veronika Williams Richard McManus
Health care professionals Geoff Wong/Eleanor Barry Paul Aveyard
Support, teaching, admin & researchers (non-clinical researchers) TBC Susan Jebb
Workload allocation Anthony Harnden
Teaching Helen Salisbury TBC
Emotional impact of research / staff wellbeing Abi McNivenJessy Morton and Sue Smith TBC
Green Impact and environmental sustainability Charlotte Thompson-Grant, Charlotte Lee John Powell
Physically active at work David Nunan Rafael Perera-Salazar
Early and Mid-Career Researchers' Group Anne-Marie Boylan Carl Heneghan
Staff living outside of Oxford (commuters) Jenny Riga Chris Butler

Better PDRs

Kamal Mahtani/Melissa Stepney Richard Hobbs

 Data Monitoring

 Tanya Baldwin/Clare Wickings Sue Ziebland

Do you have an idea for a new group? Contact Elizabeth Woolliams.

Group members also include:

Katherine Corr - Athena SWAN Advisor & Facilitator (Medical Sciences Division)
Elizabeth Woolliams - BWP Group Administrator
Tanya Baldwin - Head of Administration and Finance
Clare Wickings - HR Manager
Dan Richards-Doran - Senior Communications Manager