Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Our department's Better Workplace Group works towards ensuring the department is a supportive and encouraging environment for all staff and students. The Group is made up of several smaller working groups who consult with staff to identify areas for improvement and make changes for the benefit of everyone. 

Too date, the Group has achieved two consecutive Athena SWAN Silver Awards - the charter for women in science, engineering, maths and medicine - and a Green Impact Bronze Award.

The Better Workplace Group is chaired by Professor Sue Ziebland.

> To join a group, contact the working group lead.

Working Group Working Group Lead
Mentoring  Katherine Tucker
DPhil students Constantinos Koshiaris
Family friendly (including returning carers) and part-time staff James Sheppard / Veronika Williams
Health care professionals Kay Wang
Support, teaching, admin & researchers (non-clinical researchers) Susannah Flemming
Workload allocation Anthony Harnden
Teaching Helen Salisbury
Emotional impact of research / staff wellbeing Susan Kirkpatrick / Abi McNiven
Green Impact and environmental sustainability Karen Morecroft
Physically active at work David Nunan
Internal communications Dan Richards-Doran
Early and Mid-Career Researchers' Group Anne-Marie Boylan
Staff living outside of Oxford (commuters) Jenny Riga
Better PDRs Kamal Mahtani / Melissa Stepney

Do you have an idea for a new group? Contact Elizabeth Woolliams.

Group members also include:

Charlotte Smith - Athena SWAN Advisor & Facilitator (Medical Sciences Division)
Elizabeth Woolliams - BWP Group Administrator